• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Logo

Fashion Schools USA

  • Home
  • Schools by State
  • Programs
    • Fashion Design
    • Fashion Marketing
    • Fashion Merchandising
  • Online Programs
  • Guides
    • Fashion Merchandising Degree
    • What Is Fashion Merchandising?
    • Fashion Styling Schools
  • School Profiles
    • Fashion Institute of Technology
    • Parsons School of Design
    • LIM College
    • ASU FIDM
    • Academy of Art University
    • Arkansas State Online
  • Cities
    • New York City
    • Atlanta
    • Chicago
  • FAQ
You are here: Home / Fashion Schools by State / Fashion Schools in California (2026): 38 Colleges Compared / Fashion Design Schools in California: 36 Programs (2026)

Fashion Design Schools in California: 36 Programs (2026)

By Anki P · Reviewed by Kamila Katkauskaite (Creative Brand & Content Coordinator), October 31, 2026 · Editorial policy

Also in California: All fashion schools in California · Fashion marketing schools in California

California fashion design schools at a glance (2026)

  • 36 colleges report a fashion design program: 33 public and 3 private.
  • Lowest yearly cost after grants: West Valley College in Saratoga, $1,033.
  • Community college fees: $46 per unit for California residents.
  • California State University tuition: $6,838 a year for residents in 2026-27, plus campus fees.
  • Closing: California College of the Arts closes in June 2027.

Thirty-six California colleges report a fashion design program to the U.S. Department of Education. Most are community colleges, where residents pay $46 per unit. Six California State University campuses report design programs, and three private colleges offer bachelor’s degrees. This page compares them on cost and explains what each design program involves. For merchandising and the full state list, see our guide to fashion schools in California.

Fashion Design programs in California

SchoolCityTypeTuition (in-state)Average net priceProgram focus
West Valley Collegefederal dataSaratogaPublicNot reported$1,033Design
College of the Sequoiasfederal dataVisaliaPublic$1,394$1,096Design and merchandising
Long Beach City Collegefederal dataLong BeachPublic$1,560$1,192Design and merchandising
Fullerton Collegefederal dataFullertonPublic$1,150$1,302Design and merchandising
Mt. San Antonio Collegefederal dataWalnutPublic$1,364$1,676Design and merchandising
Santa Monica Collegefederal dataSanta MonicaPublic$1,158$1,693Design and merchandising
Palomar Collegefederal dataSan MarcosPublic$1,356$1,839Design and merchandising
Orange Coast Collegefederal dataCosta MesaPublic$1,222$1,850Design and merchandising
San Joaquin Delta Collegefederal dataStocktonPublic$1,180$2,451Design and merchandising
Los Angeles Trade Technical Collegefederal dataLos AngelesPublic$1,238$3,531Design and merchandising
Allan Hancock Collegefederal dataSanta MariaPublic$1,158$3,975Design
California State University-Fresnofederal dataFresnoPublic$8,224$5,418Design
Sacramento City Collegefederal dataSacramentoPublic$1,288$5,713Design
American River Collegefederal dataSacramentoPublic$1,288$5,730Design and merchandising
City College of San Franciscofederal dataSan FranciscoPublic$1,696$5,852Design and merchandising
California State University-Northridgefederal dataNorthridgePublic$7,850$6,346Design
Santa Rosa Junior Collegefederal dataSanta RosaPublic$1,318$6,765Design and merchandising
Santa Ana Collegefederal dataSanta AnaPublic$1,188$7,224Design and merchandising
California State Polytechnic University-Pomonafederal dataPomonaPublic$8,147$9,404Design and merchandising
California State University-Long Beachfederal dataLong BeachPublic$8,338$9,426Design and merchandising
San Francisco State Universityfederal dataSan FranciscoPublic$8,324$9,803Design
California State University-Sacramentofederal dataSacramentoPublic$9,014$11,186Design
Mendocino Collegefederal dataUkiahPublic$1,414$11,640Design
El Camino Collegefederal dataTorrancePublic$1,156$13,761Design and merchandising
Pasadena City Collegefederal dataPasadenaPublic$1,180$16,993Design
San Diego Mesa Collegefederal dataSan DiegoPublic$1,154$21,767Design and merchandising
Saddleback Collegefederal dataMission ViejoPublic$1,156$23,913Design and merchandising
Chaffey Collegefederal dataRancho CucamongaPublic$1,184$24,504Design and merchandising
Sierra Collegefederal dataRocklinPublic$1,448$27,774Design and merchandising
Monterey Peninsula Collegefederal dataMontereyPublic$1,188$35,126Design
Academy of Art Universityfederal dataSan FranciscoPrivate$32,224$41,747Design and merchandising
Woodbury Universityfederal dataBurbankPrivate$48,629$44,337Design and merchandising
Otis College of Art and Designfederal dataLos AngelesPrivate$58,143$50,943Design
Antelope Valley Collegefederal dataLancasterPublic$1,124Not reportedDesign
Cañada Collegefederal dataRedwood CityPublic$1,332Not reportedDesign and merchandising
College of Alamedafederal dataAlamedaPublic$1,258Not reportedDesign

Source: tuition and average net price (yearly cost after grants, for students receiving federal aid) from College Scorecard, U.S. Department of Education, retrieved November 1, 2026. Program lists: IPEDS completions, 2022-23 and 2023-24. Each “federal data” link opens that school’s record.

What it costs

36 colleges in California report a program covering fashion design. Net price, what students actually pay after grants, ranges from $1,033 at West Valley College to $50,943 at Otis College of Art and Design, with a median of $6,765 a year. Net price includes living costs, so students who live at home usually pay less. The national fashion design directory lets you compare these programs with options in other states.

Bachelor’s degrees in fashion design

Otis College of Art and Design (Los Angeles)

Otis is a private art college that awards a BFA. Applicants send a portfolio in one of two ways: an open portfolio of 10 to 20 images of recent work, or a structured portfolio of ten images on three set prompts (Otis portfolio requirements). Tuition for 2026-27 is $55,744 a year, plus $1,128 in fees (Otis costs). Its average cost after grants, $50,943, is the highest on this list.

Academy of Art University (San Francisco)

The Academy offers a BFA in Fashion Design and an MFA. Admission does not require a portfolio, test scores or grades. The portfolio comes later: the 120-unit BFA includes a sophomore portfolio course and a senior portfolio course. Its average cost after grants is $41,747 a year.

Cal Poly Pomona

Cal Poly Pomona’s design track is the B.S. in Fashion Design, Technology, and Management, Design and Production option. It covers product development, technical design and production management. The department’s apparel program was accredited by TAPAC, the textile and apparel accreditor, for seven years from April 2025. Its average cost after grants is $9,404.

California State University, Long Beach

CSULB awards a BA in Fashion Merchandising and Design with a Fashion Design option (120 units). Students need a C or better in each required course. CSULB admits 46% of all applicants, the most selective rate among the CSU campuses on this list. In 2026-27, residents pay $6,838 in tuition and $1,910 in mandatory fees (CSULB costs).

California State University, Northridge

CSUN’s Fashion Design and Production option is part of its B.S. in Fashion Design and Merchandising. It focuses on apparel manufacturing, processing and quality control. Its average cost after grants is $6,346. Among the bachelor’s programs here, only Fresno State is lower, at $5,418.

California College of the Arts (San Francisco): closing

CCA offers a 120-unit BFA in Fashion Design, and every spring its seniors show their thesis collections to a professional jury. However, CCA will close in June 2027. Students enrolled in spring 2027 can finish through a teach-out agreement with CalArts. New students should plan on another school.

Fresno State, Sacramento State, San Francisco State and Woodbury University also report fashion design programs. Compare their costs in the table above.

Community colleges: the low-cost start

Most of the schools on this list are community colleges. California residents pay $46 per unit, a rate the state has not raised since 2012 (Legislative Analyst’s Office). Admission is open, so no portfolio is needed to start.

For example, Santa Monica College offers an associate degree and a certificate in fashion design, with 42 units in the major. LA Trade-Tech, Fullerton, Orange Coast, Pasadena, Long Beach City College and Mt. San Antonio also report fashion design programs.

Transferring to a CSU

Many students take fashion and general education courses at a community college, then transfer to a CSU for the bachelor’s degree. Check which courses count on ASSIST, the state’s official transfer website. CSUN, for example, publishes a transfer road map for its fashion design option and requires at least 30 units at CSUN. Ask a counselor early, because course credit for fashion classes differs by campus.

Choosing between public and private

The gap is large. The 30 public colleges with a federal cost figure average $9,333 a year after grants. The 3 private colleges average $45,676. The lowest-cost private option, Academy of Art University in San Francisco, still averages $41,747. A community college followed by a CSU is usually the cheapest route to a bachelor’s in fashion design.

Fashion design jobs in California

California employs 6,470 fashion designers, more than any other state, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (May 2025). BLS does not publish a California median wage for this job. The national median for fashion designers is $80,960. California also has 48,010 buyers and purchasing agents across all industries, with a median of $82,720 (BLS).

Closed and changed schools

  • FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising) closed its programs on March 31, 2025. Its fashion education continues as ASU FIDM, part of Arizona State University, with four-year fashion degrees in Los Angeles and Phoenix.
  • California College of the Arts closes in June 2027 (see above).

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest fashion design program in California?

West Valley College in Saratoga has the lowest average cost after grants on this list, $1,033 a year. All California community colleges charge residents $46 per unit.

How many California colleges offer fashion design?

36 colleges on our list report a fashion design program: 33 public and 3 private. California College of the Arts is not counted because it is closing in June 2027.

Do I need a portfolio for fashion design in California?

Otis requires one when you apply. Academy of Art does not, but its BFA includes sophomore and senior portfolio courses. Community colleges admit without a portfolio. Check each CSU program’s own requirements.

What happened to FIDM?

FIDM closed on March 31, 2025. Its programs continue as ASU FIDM in Los Angeles and Phoenix.

Schools identified via U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS data (CIP 50.0407 and 19.09). Costs are the federal figures used on our California page. Program details, portfolio rules and 2026-27 tuition were checked on each school’s site on October 31, 2026. Federal costs were updated on November 1, 2026. Net price is the average paid after grants by federal aid recipients. See our methodology.

Nearby states

  • Fashion schools in Oregon
  • Fashion schools in Nevada
  • Fashion design schools in Arizona
  • Fashion design schools in Washington

What changed on this page

  • October 31, 2026: Rebuilt with program names, portfolio rules and 2026-27 tuition checked on school sites, transfer routes, BLS jobs data, and closed or changed schools (FIDM, CCA).

Primary Sidebar

State-wise Fashion Schools

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona
Arkansas | California
Colorado | Connecticut
Delaware | Florida
Georgia | Hawaii
Idaho | Illinois
Indiana | Iowa
Kansas | Kentucky
Louisiana | Maine | Maryland
Massachusetts | Michigan
Minnesota | Mississippi
Missouri | Montana | Nebraska
Nevada | New Hampshire
New Jersey | New Mexico
New York | North Carolina
North Dakota | Ohio
Oklahoma | Oregon
Pennsylvania | Rhode Island
South Carolina | South Dakota
Tennessee | Texas
Utah | Vermont
Virginia | Washington
Washington DC | West Virginia
Wisconsin | Wyoming

Student Resources

top 25 fashion merchandising colleges

Best Fashion Merchandising Schools in the US (2026)

masters in merchandising guide

Master’s in Fashion Merchandising: Who Needs One (2026)

fashion courses guide

Fashion Design Courses: What You Actually Study (2026 Guide)

top 20 fashion schools in USA

Best Fashion Schools in the US (2026): Top 20 Ranked

[esy_widget type="listings" category_id="391,392" title="Featured Online Fashion Design & Merchandising Programs Now Enrolling Students" color="#e95959"]

Copyright © 2026 Fashion Schools USA · Privacy Policy · Terms · Editorial Policy · Contact